Bangiya Sahitya Parishat
( বঙ্গীয় সাহিত্য পরিষৎ )

Grade-I Heritage Building, Vde Notification No. 5584-UD/O/M/SB

Established on 23 July (8 Shraban 1300 BS), 1893, Bangiya Sahitya Parishat is a Society (Registered under the Registration of Societies Act – Registration No. S/1450/1899-1900) which has not only the study and development of the Bengali Language and Literature as its main objective but also has cultural, historical, archaeological, sociological and other scientific studies and researches with special reference to Bengal within the scope of its investigation.

At the time of its establishment 122 years ago at the residence of Raja Benoy Krishna Dev of Sovabazar, it was named ‘Bengal Academy of Literature’. The Institution was renamed as Bangiya Sahitya Parishat the next year. The present building of its own located at 243/1, Acharya Prafulla Chandra Road, Kolkata – 700 006 (the land on which the building was constructed was a munificent gift from Maharaja Manindra Chandra Nandi) was completed and occupied by the Parishat in 1908. The iconic litterateur of Bengal like Ramesh Chandra Dutt, I.C.S., Rabindranath Tagore, Ramendrasundar Trivedi, Nabinchandra Sen, Jagadishchandra Bose, Nirmal Kumar Bose, Suniti Kumar Chattopadhyay, Rakhaldas Bandyopadhyay, Haraprasad Shastri and many others graced this organization as its Presidents or Vice Presidents.

Heritage Institution

This building has been please proofread my paper declared as Grade-I Heritage Building by the Municipal Corporation of Kolkata vide notification no.5584-UD/O/M/SB/96 dated.06.10.1997.